The Hunt for UBL (Usama Bin Laden)

Spoiler alert: Bin Laden dies at the end, hahaha.

Here’s an intriguing question for you…Do you remember what you were doing and where you were when you heard the news that the United States military had found and killed Usama Bin Laden? I remember where I was…sitting in my spare bedroom at home, watching the Philadelphia Phillies play. May 1, 2011…the Phillies were playing at home versus the NY Mets on a Sunday night. They lost in 14 innings, but that’s not the important part of this story. What’s important is that the crowd starting chanting USA!! USA!! USA!! Nobody knew why, but it kept getting louder and louder. Finally, the announcers come on and said that news was spreading throughout the stadium that UBL had been killed. News was actually spreading in real time, because thousands of people in the stadium had their cell phones and were getting the news that way. Talk about living in the digital age and instantaneous news. I watched 2 hours of CNN coverage that night and saw hundreds of posts on facebook of people spreading the news. I have to say, I was a proud American that night.

Alright, now to what I thought of “Zero Dark Thirty”. Any movie that is based upon the real life circumstances of finding and killing one of the most dangerous terrorists in this world is obviously going to have people interested to see it. I was one of those, as were the several dozens of men who walked out of the theater after it was over. As for the movie, it was pretty good and pretty insightful into the process. I’m not gonna lie, it was also pretty graphic and some parts were extremely hard to stomach. If you could handle all the torturing, swearing and people being blown up, then this movie is for you. If not, then don’t waste your time or money. I mean seriously…I could’ve shown up 30 minutes late, skipped all the waterboarding and torture and still not missed anything important to the movie. And don’t even get me going on the swearing…I should’ve started the F-bomb meter as soon as I walked into the movie. I mean seriously, is Kathryn Bigelow’s favorite word F*#@ or is it an homage to UBL?? Here’s what I did like about the movie. The head CIA agent “Maya” is incredibly well done…persistent, feisty and doesn’t take anyone’s crap. It’s because of her we found and killed UBL!! The ending is definitely the best part…those stealth helicopters are badass and so is Seal Team 6!! Bottom line, you wanna see how it all went down and how we got that bastard UBL…then go see “Zero Dark Thirty”. Enjoy and don’t take your kids.

Chad’s Take: 3 out of 5 Stars (When it comes to the Oscars this year, with all the movies it’s up against…this movie doesn’t stand a chance!!)

Leave a comment